Former President – Ajay Kumar wins Henk Zijm International Award 2014

The Henk Zijm Award for 2014 was given to Ajay Kumar, the former president of UniTe for his contributions to the goal of internationalization and integration at the University of Twente for his work in UniTe.

Ajay Kumar receiving the Henk Zijm International Award 2013-2014
Ajay Kumar receiving the Henk Zijm International Award 2013-2014


The Henk Zijm Award is awarded yearly to students, employees or organizations who have committed themselves to internationalization at the University of Twente in a very special way.

“The event was also a great opportunity to honor organizations and individuals that actively contribute to a better international environment at UT. Such associations or students are nominated for the Henk Zijm International award, which has existed since 2009. It was named after Professor Henk Zijm, who was Rector Magnificus of the UT from 2005 until 2009 and strongly focused on internationalization of the university.

Henk Zijm himself was present at the event and made a speech during which he stressed the importance of international cooperation.” – Read more at UTNieuws

Former winners are the buddy’s of the Buddy program and Mareike Backhaus (UniTe 2012).

(photo: Gijs van Ouwerkerk)